Fear’s contagion – Control

One of my growing convictions is that the church is severely impaired because we have not looked at the issues of power and control. We assume that the only way to have governance is through power and control. We adopt a  natural mindset and flow in patterns that lead to death.

Jesus said very clearly that if I want to be great, I need to choose to be least, weakest, most lowly. If I want to teach, I should take the place of a child. I don’t push forward to tell others, I ask questions – not to direct subtly, but to genuinely learn how another sees Life. I live as a servant, as a learner.

At core is the need to understand the goal. It isn’t external righteousness. It isn’t conformity to a behaviour standard. It is rather a transformed heart that flows in passion for you my Jesus and lives in abandoned surrender to you Daddy God in the flow of your living fire, Spirit.  Paul says to Timothy that the goal of our instruction is love from a pure heart, a clear conscience and a sincere faith.

This transformation does not flow from power and control. It flows out of a relationship of love and trust with you my God. To get there we have to have love and trust with Fathers and Mothers. As we enter into the freedom of sonship we enter into Life.

As a person – a son/daughter of the Living God, I must understand that this Life depends on revelation. It’s foundation and vitality flows from experiential encounters with the One who is present; the I AM. Unless I engage in this moment and continue to walk out each second in the shaking reality of His presence, I will go around unrestrained. I will not have direction and purpose. I will fall back to living my life within words and define my Life within boundaries that flow from lifeless principles and ideas. This produces an external righteousness, which can powerfully demonstrate the amazing power of law to shape behaviour, yet all the while releasing death, as law cannot produce Life. Life is gifted by the Holy Spirit and Spirit can only be known in revelational encounters that open my eyes to see heaven and the King of Glory.When I am undone, I am transformed into His likeness and being.

Life is not open to external control. Our Daddy God,  alone has all power and is omnipotent.He alone holds the world in His hand and can direct any heart where ever He chooses. Yet, He is the One who invites me into love and relationship. He calls for me to give Him my heart. He invites me to choose, to come away and be forever lost in His embrace. This is a choice flowing from love not one that is forced or controlled. If I seek to be like our Abba, Daddy, I must choose to relinquish all thought of control and learn the art of wooing a wandering bride. I sink into a Life that models the dynamic of revelational intimacy that is contagious. I myself am captivated and unashamedly stand transfixed before Him. I weep; I shout; I dance;I sing new songs of a heart set free and forever lost in love. Transparently I give myself away so that anyone may see the wonder of love found.

In this, I shift the atmosphere around me. I move it away from control and the abuse of power and open heaven’s manifestation. I live the “good news” as incarnational truth. Jesus is manifested in me for all the world to see. I seek Him and speak His words. I don’t control you but we join together in a community of yieldedness before the One who speaks and holds our hearts in HIs hand. We hold His heart in tenderness and joy and would do anything to give Him His hearts desire – a glorious bride, a resplendent in beauty, lost in love for the bridegroom alone.

Perfect love casts out fear. When I see the desire to control arise in my heart, I know I have somehow succumbed to fear again. Invariably the enemy frames a rational obligation with godly sounding words that justifies my actions that flow out of fear. Control seeks to manage someone else for “my” sense of their benefit. Love seeks to give my life away sacrificially. I do this so that in some way I might demonstrate the infinite value of this son or daughter  before me. I gladly throw this life away so that the Beloved One might freshly be made known. I die so that you might live with no regard to the apparent futility of throwing my life away. I am His and He gave His life for me. I am His so I give my life to you – to be spent on the sacrifice and service of your faith. I don’t control – I love and in loving I live!

