Stepping through

The Spirit of God has a longing desire to release the wonder of revelational encounters to any seeking heart. But this wonder can not be released to an inflexible heart! It would only be damaged – ripped open – rather than stretched and transformed by the wonder.

It is easy to yearn for a change in circumstances, and yet, not realize that to receive the wonder of this change, I require a structure that will “stretch”. If my security is anchored in the familiar, rather than in the reality of a dynamic relationship with my Daddy God, I will only be torn free and cast into a scary, rootless oblivion!

Mercy withholds revelation from a boxed in, constrained and dogmatic mind.

The softness of love, the vibrancy and flexibility of flame, is open to any who are willing to “change state” ( the concept of going from a liquid to a gas). So I am invited to move from the natural box I have learned and step into the awe that flows in the wind of the Spirit.

To feel the heat of worship and adoration and not leave the structure of our wooden form leaves us impossibly on edge and at risk. I choose to give wing to a change of state.  I join myself to the Spirit of God – a dynamic with which I am in general not essentially familiar with as a human being bound in my culture. I then suddenly leap upwards in a  dance of flame that is full of heat and passion. What opens to me is a world far different from the hard structure of my material world.

I stretch beyond my knowing. I see with eyes that acknowledge the impossibility of what I see, even as I experience majesty beyond my comprehension. I sense my being imprinted by shaping and crafting that are tender yet impossibly life changing. I know I am marked forever by  an infinite grace and that has opened to me existence in a vibrancy I have never imagined. I settle into a peace even as I shake at the weak incapacity of my frames of reality being bent and transformed. And I know – I am known  – loved and endued with possibility I could not have foreseen even a second ago. Timeless and yet present. Explosively at peace. Joyous with an exuberance found only in intimacy, yet forever invited to love expansively.

I am drawn into revelation and I not only experience wonder – I know Him!!

Author – Bill Tidsbury

