Shouting – in a world where whispers bring hope

We are moving into a time of conflict.

Fear fills the air.

People cry aloud!

People chant and taunt.

Actions bring harm. Pain hemorrhages everywhere.

Turmoil is causing visceral reactions.

I rise up to protect and defend my country- I am afraid!!

I rush forward to protest – I am scared of where things are going!

Truth is hard to hear when my heart is beating wildly!!

I can not see into your eyes when your eyes are violent and mine are angry!

Why should I care?

Whoever you are – you are the OTHER!! If you were my friend, you would be with me.

So I shout!

I feel strongly!

I know I am right – truth is on my side! I’m convinced! No one can change my mind!

I am blind – and now I hate!

You – the OTHER!

And it will be ok because after all – I am right!!

 

And truth??

 

Well it unfortunately lies bleeding on the ground.

 

How can I whisper when you are shouting? How can I bring change unless I scream?

Why does my heart look for quiet? Why is my heart bleeds full of silent screams?

 

Two lives whisper when love comes calling.

Two eyes soften in times of trust.

Two mouths touch with gentle kindness, when I see past your heart into your difference!

 

 

Hope rests with eyes that see.

 

Life lived in whispers brings a different type of victory.

Life arises in the quiet of a heart that is really free.

There is no fear when I am settled.

There is no dread when I walk in peace.

Eyes that are blind will open slowly, when I walk gently.

I connect your heart to life and love.

A sacrifice of peace is needed.

Quiet presence in the midst of violence.                 Actions taken that open windows.

Presence brought that stops the stones.

This is hopeless, it makes no sense! Violence never will still its voice!

 

We must arise! We must clear the streets  —of those who are so distinctly OTHER!!

 

WE HAVE NO OTHER CHOICE!

So love is exiled to the back room, while important matters change.

We all believe in love, dear.                           It’s just best to wait for a better day!

 

Yet,

still I cannot help it, still I cannot stop the need.

I must get up and reach my hand out, I must still whisper, I see your need!

Shouting never can bring hope – the world needs whispers!

So I quietly walk and look,

 into the eyes that still are shouting,

speaking whispers- wandering lonely -with my eyes so full of tears.

Author – Bill Tidsbury

