Awakened by a kiss

Bright eyes, questing minds, seeking hope in future things. Two friends, heads tilting, dreaming of small delights coming down the pike. One vagrant on the  move, stopping, boldly asking for the Pepsi still half full. Two young teens, suddenly vulnerable, sitting on a shady bench. Two young women in a public space, the years suddenly yelling with experience raw. Instinct reacts and with something small, dodges with sorrow the aggressor’s power. Suddenly, a moment with small unconscious moves, what is mine is passed over, avoiding danger looming tall.

Life when captured, as if frozen, reveals so much. Things unspoken, still unthought, yet in action shining clear. Risk aversion in a violent world, teaches quick submission to the one who roars. Sudden moments so easily reveal, the difference between what’s peace and threats dipped in blood. Actors who play unspoken songs, living and breathing in the world of fear. The male though running, from others strong, can still reach out and strip the weak, just walking along.

Life is settled in moments like these. Can one question motives? Can one really see? Was the moment but gracious, as one gives to the poor, or was the moment but hidden, a form of extortion ridden. Decision, surprises, that reach out and show, this world is more complex than I often can show. And yet in this mix, as I walk in my song, I give to each treasure a piece of my song. It seems that it can’t fit, so divergent the grinding, and yet in some moment, I find someone still humming!

So hope must live on, and life must be braved, my neighbours are waiting to grasp dreams that aren’t frayed.  I have no great power, I have no great plan. I’m simply an instrument , alive in His song. It is good to be joyful, and greeting the day, with hope for my destiny opening the way. I brush  with delight, each tender heart finding, I listen with patience to those who’re still blind. I send voltage tickling the soul unaware, those sweet spirits caught  by the withering of pain. And once in each day , I am sure to discover, some bright soul that is waiting to kiss their heroic. I walk with delight, seeking one who is dreaming, so that heaven’s kisses come wakening their vitality of being!

Author – Bill Tidsbury

