Day’s heat

Heat beats down, scorching earth below.

Who would believe that shadows bring such relief?

Sweat trickles slowly down my spine.

Hazy heat wraps me like a shroud.

 

Walking shifts the scene as time slows down.

Many choose to stroll, wiser to the pace of life.

Distance comes towards me through the humid haze.

Trees are such a breath of life to me these days.

 

People here seem quick to smile, eager eyes are seeking peace.

Hearts aren’t frigid, just seeking life, hoping still – in spite of strife.

Lazy conversations flow; laughter flows like sun warmed air.

Breezes stirring, so now must break, this stifling vice of oven heat.

 

Time is gentle, when you stop and see. Life is meeting you and me.

Day’s song builds and then it fades, as night caresses ocean’s breeze.

To adapt to all our phases, never running when its better walked.

Holding hands, slowly learning, dancing through this life we brave.

Author – Bill Tidsbury

