A different “you”

What’s in your face when you first look at me?

Why do your eyes stop? Why do you stare!

Is it because I have skin that’s so white?

Or possibly it’s just the fact that I look bright?

 

In mystery’s humility I struggle to live.

It seems contradiction to receive, when I long to give!

Yet watching your face as you give of your self,

I’m humbled and honoured to catch glimpses of grace!

 

Why do My eyes seem to meet yours with such trust?

What  do I catch when that bright smile appears?

Why does your soul seem to leap, then shed tears,

when hope turns to quicken what was lying there dead?

 

“Can I help you,” seems so much easier to say,

than, “here I come seeking advice if you may!”

Yet help, when you offer, grants me blessing and grace.

I feel so  thankful, you walk away in amaze!

 

How do I see past the fear in your eyes?

When can an act, speak peace that abides?

What can I bring, that’s a gift not a bribe,

to open the future and let your kids be alive?

 

In giving, you strengthen your heart to endure.

In receiving, I give your dignity a floor.

You step up, you grow wings, and suddenly show,

Your capable, bigger, than that “you” from before!

Author  – Bill Tidsbury

Leave a Reply

